A New Approach to Astrology
My Account
Wed. 19 Jun., 07:11 AM UT
Sun 28°30'   Gemini
Moon 25°03'   Scorpio
Mercury  4°09'   Cancer
Venus  2°30'   Cancer
Mars  7°28'   Taurus
Jupiter  5°38'   Gemini
Saturn 19°20'   Pisces
Uranus 25°09'   Taurus
Neptune 29°53'   Pisces
Pluto  1°37'  Я Aquarius
Chiron 22°57'   Aries
True Node 12°41'  Я Aries
True Lilith 18°22'  Я Virgo
Horoscope for now
Moon Phase
Waxing Moon, 91.37%
Waxing Gibbous
Sat. 22 Jun., 01:10 AM UT
Celebrity Search

The Analogy between Astrological Signs and Houses

In astrology, the zodiac signs and the houses are two of the main components of a horoscope. The zodiac signs are based on the Sun's position at the time of birth, while the houses are based on the time and place of birth.

Each of the 12 zodiac signs has its own character traits, strengths, and weaknesses. On the other hand, the 12 astrological houses represent different areas of life.


Although each sign and each house are unique, there are analogies between the signs and the houses that share the same number, i.e., Aries with house 1, Taurus with house 2, etc. Let's take a look at them by summarizing in a few words their resemblance and what differentiates them. To learn much more about each sign individually, we invite you to click on their link.

Aries and 1st House: Self and Identity

Aries is enthusiastic

Aries is a cardinal fire sign, ruled by Mars. Aries are known to be bold, energetic, and leaders.

The first house represents the self, identity, and physical appearance.

Analogy: The bold energy of Aries is reflected in the 1st house, which concerns personal development and self-assertion.

Differences: Aries can sometimes be impulsive, while the 1st house simply represents the individual without necessarily carrying this impulsivity.

Taurus and 2nd House: Resources and Values

Taurus is faithful in love

Taurus is a fixed earth sign, ruled by Venus. Taurus are stable, reliable, and enjoy sensory pleasures.

The 2nd house represents material resources, finances, and personal values.

Analogy: Taurus and the 2nd house share a love for material stability and the pleasures of life.

Differences: Taurus can sometimes be stubborn, while the 2nd house is more broadly focused on values and resources without this characteristic.

Gemini and 3rd House: Communication and Learning

Geminis have the sense of humour

Gemini is a mutable air sign, ruled by Mercury. Geminis are communicative, curious, and adaptable.

The 3rd house represents communication, learning, and relationships with siblings.

Analogy: Both are centered on communication and the exchange of ideas.

Differences: Geminis can sometimes be inconsistent, while the 3rd house simply focuses on communication and close relationships.

Cancer and 4th House: Family and Origins

Cancer is a daydreamer, sometimes a poet

Cancer is a cardinal water sign, ruled by the Moon. Cancers are sensitive, emotional, and attached to family.

The 4th house represents family, roots, and domestic life.

Analogy: Both are strongly linked to the notion of home and family life.

Differences: Cancers can be very changeable due to the Moon, while the 4th house is simply a place of stability and roots.

Leo and 5th House: Creativity and Pleasure

Leo is beaming and demonstrative

Leo is a fixed fire sign, ruled by the Sun. Leos are creative, generous, and have a great need for personal expression.

The 5th house represents creativity, leisure, children, and self-expression.

Analogy: Both are centered on creativity and the pursuit of pleasure.

Differences: Leos can sometimes be arrogant, while the 5th house is simply a place of joy and creative expression.

Virgo and 6th House: Work and Health

Virgo is obliging and dedicated

Virgo is a mutable earth sign, ruled by Mercury. Virgos are methodical, attentive to details, and helpful.

The 6th house represents work, health, and daily habits.

Analogy: Both focus on serving others and paying attention to details.

Differences: Virgos can be critical, while the 6th house is simply a place of routine and service.

Libra and 7th House: Relationships and Partnerships

Libra is charming and attractive

Libra is a cardinal air sign, ruled by Venus. Libras are sociable, fair, and seek harmony in relationships.

The 7th house represents partnerships, romantic relationships, marriage, and contracts.

Analogy: Both focus on relationships and balance in interactions with others.

Differences: Libras can sometimes avoid confrontations at all costs, while the 7th house simply focuses on partnerships and commitments.

Scorpio and 8th House: Transformation and Mystery

Scorpio is indomitable

Scorpio is a fixed water sign, ruled by Pluto (and traditionally Mars). Scorpios are intense, passionate, and seek depth in relationships and experiences.

The 8th house represents transformation, sexuality, death, and shared resources.

Analogy: Both explore themes of transformation, mystery, and power dynamics.

Differences: Scorpios can sometimes be secretive and manipulative, while the 8th house deals simply with matters of transformation and sharing.

Sagittarius and 9th House: Exploration and Philosophy

Sagittarius is warm and extrovert

Sagittarius is a mutable fire sign, ruled by Jupiter. Sagittarians are adventurous, optimistic, and have a thirst for knowledge.

The 9th house represents exploration, higher education, philosophy, and long-distance travel.

Analogy: Both share a love for adventure, learning, and expanding horizons.

Differences: Sagittarians can sometimes be reckless, while the 9th house is simply a place of learning and exploration.

Capricorn and 10th House: Ambition and Social Standing

Capricorn is serious and competent

Capricorn is a cardinal earth sign, ruled by Saturn. Capricorns are ambitious, responsible, and disciplined.

The 10th house represents career, reputation, and social status.

Analogy: Both are concerned with achieving goals and establishing a reputation.

Differences: Capricorns can sometimes be overly cautious and rigid, while the 10th house is simply about social standing and responsibility.

Aquarius and 11th House: Innovation and Community

Aquarius, original, enjoys being different

Aquarius is a fixed air sign, ruled by Uranus (and traditionally Saturn). Aquarians are innovative, unique, and value their independence.

The 11th house represents community, friendships, and social connections.

Analogy: Both are focused on broader social issues and the importance of community.

Differences: Aquarians can sometimes be aloof and detached, while the 11th house is simply about social connections and friendships.

Pisces and 12th House: Spirituality and the Subconscious

Pisces are sensitive, empathic, and understanding

Pisces is a mutable water sign, ruled by Neptune (and traditionally Jupiter). Pisces are empathetic, intuitive, and connected to the spiritual realm.

The 12th house represents the subconscious, spirituality, and hidden aspects of life.

Analogy: Both are connected to the intangible, spiritual aspects of life.

Differences: Pisces can sometimes be escapist, while the 12th house is a place of solitude and reflection.


It is important to note that astrology is a tool for introspection and that these analogies are just a small part of a larger and more nuanced astrological analysis provided by determining dominants, describing planets in signs and houses, astrological aspects, and many other pieces of information contained in a birth chart.